upKeeper Manager 5.0 includes new functions and bug fixes which are listed below. Installation files and tools can be found on our ftp site. Included in this article you kan find technical release notes and installation documentation.
upKeeper .NET 6.0
upKeeper Manager is now running .net 6 across the system except for the WSUS Service. The configurable files have migrated from XML to JSON, meaning manual overlook is needed for upgrades. The .net 6 hosting bundle is needed for server components. The client installer is configured to install the runtime on setup. The SOS component is bundled with the runtime.
A new function has been added which enables users to connect to a WiFi network and change keyboard layout before continuing. If no cable network is found and wifi function is active a dialog with available wifi networks will be shown.
SOS keyboard layout
The SOS contains a button which allows the user to change keyboard layout.
upKeeper MDM serial number and user
Device information for upKeeper MDM (DuoSTATION MDM) devices now contain information about the serial number and user inside the web interface.
SOS Packages replaces Commands folder
A new type of package that will replace Commands folder has been added that will execute in the SOS context. These packages are managed via the Administration section in the Admin web, or when adding/editing a platform.
SOS Removable device support
USB devices formatted in the same structure as an SMB share can now transfer OS image, commands, packages and hardware driver from a removable medium such as an USB. Lesser internet connection is still needed for validation.
Client disable re-installation
It is now possible to disable on an organizational level whether or not a client user can choose to reinstall their own computer.
Windows update tasks
Three new tasks are added which allows pausing, resuming and forcing windows update on a client.
Uninstalling shared applications on non-primary organizations
Uninstallation now behaves properly on clients where the target app was shared from a different organization. This option is accessible from the organization settings on the Azure tab.
The client inventory reports array values
The client reports potential array data as comma separated values correctly.
In addition, the logging.config files are deprecated and now run on logging.json files. The methodology for configuring logging has changed due to switching from log4net to nlog. Normally, nlog would use XML formatting, but for the sake standardization it is configured to use JSON instead.
Handling of reports from SSRS have been updated to a more modern standard that will support new versions of Microsoft SQL for many years.
Active Directory User information
The upKeeper Client now attempts to fetch User Information from the Active Directory first. If the information does not exist, it default to use the local machine account.
Application server settings renaming
The key ApplicationDistributionArea has been renamed to DistributionArea. The ApplicationStagingArea is known as StagingArea.
Bug fixes 5.0.0
'Do not show client popup' in Applications
Previously, setting an app as shared between organizations would result in the box 'Do not show client popup' to be greyed out. This visual bug no longer appears.
Duplicated User Context installations for a computer
When reinstalling a machine, the machine accounts are wiped for the computer, as new accounts are formed after the reinstallation has finished and upon logging in with said account.
Removing hardware drivers .wim(s)
The application server now deletes hardware drivers correctly when the host hardware has been deleted.
Server-side filtration - Add computer to application
Adding computers to application is no longer client-side filtered. Already existing computers on an app should no longer appear when trying to add computers to an app.
Bug fixes 5.0.1
SOS wont install on long computer names
The installation will no longer continue if the computer name is too long. Maximum of 15 characters is now allowed
Hover on replaced application
Replacing applications generated an error which made the user unable to see it's replacing application. This is no longer the case
Certain API calls no longer throws license expired
Some calls that are necessary to update the license was prohibited to use without a license.
Number of application tied to a computer displayed
Previously the number of applications tied to a computer would display as "Showing 0 of 0" even if there was more then 0 application tied to it. Now it will display correctly as "Showing 5 of 5" etc.
Application names max 64 characters
Application names can now be max 64 characters with automatic truncation. Also being validated on web admin.
MDM devices synced from DuoSTATION MDM showing correctly
Fixed a issue where MDM devices synced from DuoSTATION MDM wasn't showing as it was supposed to.
Truncate long usernames from Azure AD
Long usernames from Azure AD was causing issues before, a fix for this have been pushed out.
MDM devices syncs if the sync checkbox is checked
Previously MDM devices would only sync if the sync checkbox wasn't checked. This is fixed.
Replaced application in web admin
Added better view logic to see replaced applications
Computer with empty UUID
Fixed so a computer can have an empty UUID
Copy computer copies over settings, application and groups
When copying a computer the relevant settings, applications and groups be copied over to the new copy.
Sort order on popup dialogs
When upgrading to 5.0 a bug with sort order for popup dialogs got discovered. This has been sorted by the most relevant data in the dialog.
Remove a organisation that has user tied to it
You can now remove a organisation that has a user tied to it.
Export CSV from device view
Fix for creating a CSV file from the device view.
Search on groups in group listing
There has been an issues when searching on groups in group listing, this has now been fixed.
To long device names
Previously if you created a to long device name you would get a warning regarding it but it would still continue creating the device. Now it will no longer create device and prompt you to change the name.
Selecting a mobile device for deletion
It's no longer possible to select a mobile device for deletion, even though it would not get deleted.